Breaking News

Agbakoba, Ezekwesili, Utomi others chide FG over insecurity

The National Consultative Front (NCF), has dismissed Nigeria’s political leadership since 1999 as lacking in vision and focus and also incapable of bailing Nigeria out of its predicaments.

The group’s comment is contained in a resolution signed by not less than 30 eminent Nigerians, including former Speaker, House of Representatives, Ghali Umar Naaba; former President, Nigeria Bar Association (NBA), Dr. Olisa Agbakoba and an economist, Prof. Pat Utomi.

Others include human rights lawyer, Mr. Femi Falana (SAN); former Minister of Education, Dr. Oby Ezekwesili; Prof Jibo Ibrahim and a former federal lawmaker, Ambassador Nkoyo Toyo.

They decried the ongoing massacre and kidnappings in the North West, North East, Southern Kaduna, Middle Belt, Southern part of Nigeria and many other parts of the country by armed bandits and insurgents.

The concerned leaders chided the government over bandits who invaded Nigerian communities, especially at night, to inflict terror and murder on hapless and unsuspecting residents.

“We hereby call on those presently in charge of our Federal Government, military and security apparatus to immediately wake up and do everything to stop the ongoing senseless pogrom against the masses of our people.

“Our political coalition asserts that the current factionalisation and imbroglio rocking dominant political parties in Nigeria as well as the heightening political tension in the country, especially within the Nigerian ruling class, have further given credence to our resolve and intervention to provide a credible alternative political class and leadership for Nigeria as most of those who pride themselves as leaders of our country in the last 21 years of civil rule has proven to be huge failures and burden to the wellbeing of our people,” they said.

See also  Lagos: Coronavirus patient arrived via Turkish Airlines

Other members of the coalition are Dr. Kemi George, Dan Nwanyanwu, Dr. Osagie Obayuawana, Mallam Shehu Sanni, Prof Remi Sonaya, Mallam Tanko Yinusa, Alhaji Shettima Yerima, Lady Funke Awolowo and Ogbeni Lanre Banjo.

Share this Post[?]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *