Ekiti Govt. sacks Varsity VC, other indicted heads of institutions •Full List of members of newly appointed Governing Councils

Sequel to the consideration and adoption of the White Papers on the reports of the Visitation and Fact Finding Panels by the State Executive Council, the Governor of Ekiti State, Dr Kayode Fayemi, in his capacity as Visitor, has approved the removal of the Vice Chancellor of Ekiti State University (EKSU), Ado-Ekiti; the Chief Medical Director (CMD) of Ekiti State University Teaching Hospital (EKSUTH), and Provost of the College of Education, Ikere-Ekiti.

The most senior officials are to take over the running of the institutions pending the appointment of substantive heads.

In the case of EKSU, the Deputy Vice Chancellor (Academics), Prof (Mrs) Olubunmi Ajayi, is to take charge in an acting capacity pending the appointment of a substantive Vice Chancellor by the Governing Council.

The Governor also approved the appointment of Mrs Folakemi Falore as the Sole Administrator of the College of Health Sciences and Technology, Ijero-Ekiti

As approved by the State Executive Council, the Governing Councils’ immediate task is the implementation of the approved recommendations of the White Papers.

In the case of the College of Health Sciences and Technology, Ijero, the Sole Administrator is responsible for implementing the White Paper.

The Governor also approved the immediate constitution of the following governing councils.


*Prof Bamitale Omole (Chair)

*Chief Oluwole Ojo

*Prof Adebayo Olukoshi

*Prof Funmi Olonisakin

*Prof Okey Onyejekwe

*Mrs Foluso Olaniyan

*Dr Amina Salihu

*Mrs Mope Akerele

*Prof Funso Falade

*Mr Matthew Imoru


*Dr Dare Teniola (Chair)

*Dr Adebola Orimadegun

*Dr Adedolapo Fasawe

*Prof Bosede Afolabi

*Dr Janet Funke Ogunbunmi

*Mrs Ajoke Oluwasanmi

*Prince Soji Agunbiade

COE, Ikere

*Chief Afolabi Ojuawo (Chair)

*Chief (Mrs) Moni Afuye

*Prof Kola Oladunmoye

*Mr S.I. Folorunso

*Otunba Kunle Ajayi

*Mrs Jumoke Adamolekun

College of Health Sciences and Technology, Ijero

*Mrs Folakemi Falore (Sole Administrator)


*Mr Segun Omolayo (Chair)

*Mr Gbenga Aruleba

*Mr Kunle Olofin

Yinka Oyebode, Chief Press Secretary to Governor Fayemi, said in a statement that “the newly appointed members of the Governing Councils are to be sworn in on Monday, January 28, 2019.”


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *