List of Heads of State at Mzee Moi’s funeral service

At least 10 Heads of State are expected at Nyayo Stadium to attend the funeral service for the late President Daniel Moi.

The seven are part of a delegation from 18 countries.

Among the leaders who will be in attendance are Ugandan President Yoweri Museveni, Rwanda’s Paul Kagame, South Sudan’s Salva Kiir, Ethiopia’s Sahle Work-Zewde and the DRC’s Felix Tshisekedi.

Other dignitaries are Djibouti’s President Ismail Omar Guelleh, Nigeria’s Deputy President Yemi Osinbajo, Namibia Deputy President Nickey Iyambo, former Tanzanian Presidents Jakaya Kikwete and Benjamin Mkapa, and Burundi foreign affairs minister Alain Aimé Nyamitwe.

The Queen’s representative was also present.

The dignitaries will pass State House to pay their last respects before heading to Nyayo Stadium.

Kenyans trooped to Nyayo Stadium early Tuesday morning for the funeral service of the late and former President Daniel Moi.

Some arrived as early as 4am and nearly all seats in the 30,000-capacity stadium were taken up by 8am.

On Monday, government spokesman Cyrus Oguna said the body of Moi is expected at the stadium at 10am, while President Uhuru Kenyatta will arrive a few minutes before then.

Mzee Moi’s cortège will be escorted from Parliament Buildings through Uhuru Highway and Lang’ata Road before being taken to the stadium.

Share this Post[?]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *